Q: …..

Vision (blame the small print)

“Read the chart on the wall: number one or number two….”

dino chart

Vision, the issue I can never ignore. Glasses have been a part of my appearance since I was 4. During my grade school years I managed to break a pair each year and recall several times when the frame was bent beyond recognition. “Lazy eye,” is what the doctor called it but he neglected to tell me why this happened. By college I knew that the optic nerve was not carrying the image correctly from the right eye to the brain so actually the glasses were to treat my left eye, the good eye. I can’t recall anyone telling me what the prescription for the left eye corrected, just that I needed to wear spectacles all the time.

Left eye with glasses = 40/20 and the right eye a steady 400/20.

Tests at the DMV had drama all their own. “Cover your right eye,” I would do a pretty good job on the chart as long as I had the glasses on. Examiner, “Cover your left eye.”

Me, “I can see the chart and dark lines that may be an E.” Examiner, “Has it always been like this?”

Me. “Yes, since birth.” Examiner, “You need to wear glasses all the time.”

This year I had cataract surgery for the left eye and got a lens that corrects for astigmatism. I need reading glasses to read, write and use the computer but I don’t need glasses for much else. Yesterday I asked the doctor what the vision is in my left eye. He said, “20/20.” My response, “Wow!”

The One-Eyed Photo-Artist

Having glanced at (accomplished) photo artists

I hesitate

to display my digital efforts

and be exposed the…………….amateur.

Like stripping for a stranger

inviting others to view my images, my heart,

is laced with uncertainty & risk…a thrill,

a new unwrapping of this artist’s

self.

Good writing means eliminating

debris

until words embrace the reader

and thrill my soul.

Photography: spirit dance

finding beauty amid

commonplace.

Digital, I understand, but

baffled by film

and darkrooms

and odd smells.

This world needs a one-eyed photo-artist

so I applied and got

the job.

If EmilyDickenson.com had seen her therapist

the world would have lost

a singular & inspired view.

What the hell, it sounds like fun!

Terry Redman © 2006, 2014

Zodiac

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heyannis
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 05:46:45

    Love your poem, Terry. This struck me:

    “This world needs a one-eyed photo-artist

    so I applied and got

    the job.”

    Thank you. xoA

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. JasmineDLowe
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 02:14:44

    I also use reading glasses to read, write and use the computer. It’s funny though, I just received a friendly reminder in the mail to schedule an eye exam.

    Love the poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow oldscribe418 on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 610 hits
November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
The DayMaker

TR: Terry's Reflections

mandy wallace

write or die

Joan Raymond Writing

Helping writers. One line at a time.

Travel Lessons from A to Z

TR: Terry's Reflections

Jazzed About Stuff

A 21st Century Memoir.

derwerffblogg

TR: Terry's Reflections

Clarissa Kae

TR: Terry's Reflections

On The Ink

TR: Terry's Reflections

Bako Heat

Because Curmudgeons Play by Different Rules (MON-and-FRI)

