Gone Girl and Pillow Girl

G: Gone Girl

th-5

Have you seen this woman?

th-6

Her husband has questions.

GONE GIRL

The hot book and hot movie at the moment both are titled “Gone Girl.” (GG) I’ve been reading the book on my iPad but was still in the early stages. A friend recommended Gone Girl as a good show to watch. So my wife and I went to see the ads for upcoming movies and eventually got to GG. I knew the premise: on 5th anniversary Nick Dunn goes home to find his wife, Amy, missing. Then the heart of the movie begins. And at the end we learn…you’ll have to read/see it to know but I’ve heard the movie stays true to the book. Not surprising since Gillian Flynn is the author and screenwriter.

I was engaged in the movie by the plot and characters. The story benefits from constant, ever increasing tension, complex characters, shifting relationships and a few stray characters to story in a different direction. The author’s use of diary vs. action to move the story along is clever, almost like a third major character. Every actor played the character flawlessly. There may be some academy award nominations here.

I’d recommend seeing the movie for the reasons mentioned but have a word of caution for the easily offended. There is a lot of nudity—I really know what Amy Dunne looks like and the same is true for other major characters. I guess that when I read I tend to gloss over the F-word and fail to register how often it shows up. “Saving Private Ryan” introduced us to FUBAR and the other times the F-word showed up must have been buried in dialog between characters; I glossed over the word. In this film the use of the word must rival the number of times the writer used verbs. Only the cat skips using the word.

After fifteen minutes I started to get real tired of everyone using it to talk to anyone else. If the heavy inclusion was meant to show depth of passion it became so routine that all meaning was lost. Think of it like the word “very,” used to describe how very much in love the very young characters were, and how very tragically it all played out.

PILLOW GIRL

th

Friday morning five college age girls and a guy sat down for coffee at Panera’s. One girl carried a pillow that she put on her lap when took her chair. Her hair was in a single long braid, she had on a t-shirt that could have easily served as sleepwear, and sweats.

“Self,” I said to myself, “this is a grist for a blog.” Self replied, “Take her picture, go over there and ask her name and why she has the pillow.” What? “OK, that’s a bit much,” Self muttered.

Start the story; you have a character and setting. Tell me the first 5 lines.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. heyannis
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 03:47:43

    Interesting write-up, Terry. I read the book in the summer of 2013. It was a page-turner. I have it in my head and don’t want to corrupt my head shots with a director’s and actors’ ideas of how the story ought to go. Thanks for the heads up re: the profanity. I’m not a prude or easily offended, but I don’t need that either. Thanks. xoA

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow oldscribe418 on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 627 hits
October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
The DayMaker

TR: Terry's Reflections

mandy wallace

write or die

Joan Raymond Writing

Helping writers. One line at a time.

Travel Lessons from A to Z

TR: Terry's Reflections

Jazzed About Stuff

A Writer's 21st Century Memoir.

derwerffblogg

TR: Terry's Reflections

Clarissa Kae

TR: Terry's Reflections

On The Ink

TR: Terry's Reflections

Bako Heat

Because Curmudgeons Play by Different Rules (MON-and-FRI)

