A is for Adapting, Adrift, America

World Trade

A is for Adapting, Adrift, America

I retired in June of 2001 but in my mind I mark 9-11 as the date of my retirement. The next day I watched TV as our country bled and grieved. 13 years ago today I went to Stockdale HS to see what “Mom Night” was like when I was not anchored in my room giving a talk to parents. I was adrift, compelled to retire for health reasons and grieving the loss of my job.

Over the next few years I had to adapt to making retirement worthwhile even as America had to adapt to a new world. I am a very different man now than I was 9-10-01. All this I had to learn, enrolled in a course I could not see.

Now I am engaged in a Blog Challenge with my friends in Writers of Kern and glad for the chance to write. The newsletter I hoped to publish when I was teaching (hey, we’re English teachers we can write a column) found its way into life in WOK. The writing club has been essential to my growth and healing over the past 13 years.

Today is for America, the way we used to be.

Su Kay posted that today is National Suicide Prevention Day. Today is an important day to remember those who struggle with the horror of depression on a daily basis.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandy Wallace
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 00:30:48

    I’m glad you’ve found something that makes you happy. Here’s to finding purpose!

    Like

    Reply

  2. heyannis
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 03:33:16

    And, in that searching and adapting, healing and growing, we found each other and friendship. I am grateful for that, Terry. xoA

    Like

    Reply

  3. Anna Stewart
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 06:51:47

    Ah, I don’t think any of us get to choose the course life enrolls us in…despite the best of intentions and a dog-eared course catalogue. But I do believe life leads us to lessons we need to learn. Hard to believe how long it’s been since 9-11. Your blog made me immediately flashback…to my day before…amazing how clearly before and after is defined.

    Like

    Reply

  4. joanraymondwriting
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 01:17:13

    Sometimes our goals come to us in completely different ways than we’d originally planned. Glad to see you taking up the Challenge and I look forward to reading your posts.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Dennis
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 17:43:22

    Our retirement paths crossed in Annis’s journaling class at CSUB and you introduced me to Writers of Kern. My life is blessed by that intersection. Thank you, my friend.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Joan Lindsay Kerr
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 23:10:33

    Terry, I echo the others when I say how glad I am that our mutual love of writing and engaging with others who write led us to so many new and valuable friendships. Your post touched me, as I also often view life as pre- and post-9/11. Rob and I returned from our honeymoon in July of 2001, and as we landed in Newark, we had a beautiful view of the Twin Towers. Two months later, they were gone…and travel was never again as easy or fun. Every security line and every flight still brings memories of that terrible day.

    I look forward to reading your posts!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow oldscribe418 on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 598 hits
September 2014
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
The DayMaker

TR: Terry's Reflections

mandy wallace

write or die

Joan Raymond Writing

Helping writers. One line at a time.

Travel Lessons from A to Z

TR: Terry's Reflections

Jazzed About Stuff

A 21st Century Memoir.

derwerffblogg

TR: Terry's Reflections

Clarissa Kae

TR: Terry's Reflections

On The Ink

TR: Terry's Reflections

Bako Heat

Because Curmudgeons Play by Different Rules (MON-and-FRI)

