Hand me that ice bucket!

wp-icebucketchallenge

Hand me that Ice Bucket

 th-4

I don’t know who came up with the ice bucket challenge but it was a stroke of pure genius. For the past month I have been tripping over videos and photos of people drenched and laughing. Famous, not famous, athletes, politicians, actors, old and young take the chill. The best one I’ve seen is Matt Damon who made a point about water scarcity, and a couple of friends did the challenge standing over plants in their back yard so the water would drain down to feed the plants.

The idea of group participation is not new. Just think of the cancer runs, Alzheimer’s walks, NAMI walks and pledges for this cause or that. Never have I seen so a campaign that captures imagination, humor and a good cause all in one pail. The truth is that most people have given little if any thought to Lew Gehrig or the disease that ended his life. Never underestimate the good generous people can do.

Like the idea of “Pass it on,” once someone gets drenched he/she can then challenge other friends/family to soak up the experience and pass on the dare to douse and donate. Right now 10,000 math teachers are working the challenge into their lesson plans before the fad fades.

A couple of quieter challenges are making the rounds online as I type. One is The Gratitude Challenge. “In the next 48 hours, overdo the gratitude – both in prayer and in person – express your appreciation as though you’re only allowed to keep those blessing[s] that you show that you are clearly and genuinely thankful for possessing.” Over the next 48 hours express your gratitude in prayer, online, in person and to yourself as a reminder of how blessed we all are. See more at: http://www.ignatianspirituality.com http:/

At the same time one of those endless games on Facebook asks us to pick out the 10 BOOKS that have been important in your life. “Name ten books that have stayed with or moved you. They don’t have to be great works of lit, but they have an impact on who you are. Then tag (challenge) 10 friends so they can do the same.” For a bibliophile like me, and the writers I hang out with, this is a real draw. I am working on that list now.

So, what would this blog be without a challenge? Rule 1 = do some good in the world, Rule 2 = step outside the lines, Rule 3 = have fun.

My challenge is to each of the Writers of Kern Board and the other members of WOK.

Welcome to an ice bucket/cold water challenge: Get properly doused. Then do one of the following: 1) give a donation to a charity of your choice, 2) over 2 days write/reflect on all that you have to be grateful for, 3) take the list 10 books that have impacted your life. When you complete it the challenge drop back and let us know what happened. I will do all three

 Before: The Dry Photo

IMG_1165

 

After: The Wet Photo

IMG_1167

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heyannis
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 23:13:17

    Good looking blog, Terry. Welcome back to the blogosphere! It’s interesting how folks may not do something on their own but will accept a challenge. I’m glad to see these positive “double dares”. Thanks for your thoughtful piece. I love your style. xoA

    Like

    Reply

  2. terryredman
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 02:47:20

    THE GRATITUDE CHALLENGE: the idea comes from my friend in Georgia who got it from the Jesuits. We all have so much to be grateful for and rarely take time to reflect on our good fortune. It’s fun, try it!
    I am so grateful for the following: today those I love woke up healthy, my daughters are both employed at jobs they like, I have friends in real life and on Facebook. I love that our prayers for those we love can reach across the miles, a litany of my aches and pains and there are under control, and this evening Linda and I will go to a meditation group resuming after a summer layoff. And to add one more, Helen takes the time to check my grammar.
    WOKians, when you read my blog note than I have now completed two of the three tasks listed.

    Like

    Reply

  3. terryredman
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 16:11:59

    Gratitude Reflection Day 2: I bought a new car 10 days ago and love it, on a monthly basis I meet with my friends from Stockdale HS for a breakfast, today I stopped by the chiropractor for a neck adjustment and feel better (a chronic condition that often just a pain in the–,) the rest of September looks good, today I reconnect with The Classic Multi-Genre Critique group (we take summer off) and it will be good to be back in my home group again, I enjoy the NFL games but try to screen out the knuckleheads who need to grow up, on so many levels I feel loved and blessed by God. The blog challenge is on!
    2 of 3 tasks completed. now for those books.

    Like

    Reply

  4. terryredman
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 02:49:56

    I have been tagged by Joan Kerr to list the 10 books I consider most important. Thanks, Joan.
    The Adventures of Robin Hood, author unknown, c. 1940. An anthology of stories about Robin and his friends. I liked Little John the best.
    The Fireside Book of Dog Stories, Jack Goodman ed. 1943. This book is a legacy from my uncle Terry, who died before I was born. A book of damn good stories about dogs and their people—adventure, love, life and death. What more could I ask? Terry Rafferty had the book before me so we shared a love of good stories.
    The Hardy Boys Series by Frank W. Dixon, The House on the Cliff, The Mystery of Cabin Island. This series introduced me to a series of books about the same characters. They provided adventure, smart crime solving and good characters. This is why I watch Castle, The Closer and NCIS.
    Tell No One, Harlan Coban. He is arguably the best storyteller of our time. His books are adventures filled with great characters and novel twists. He is able to tell the whole story in the first chapter, something I realize only when I finish the book.
    To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee. I read this maybe a dozen times in high school. Everyone’s idea of a great novel.
    The Women’s Murder Club Series, James Patterson. I like his stories NOT written with a co-author; as a rule co-authored titles are less powerful. Patterson is at the top of his game in his early books.
    Lassie Come Home, 1938-1941, Eric Knight. Wow! I read this as a kid, over and over. Heroism, courage, dogged determination, love, bonding and in the end they all come home.
    Michael Connelly, The Closer, Blood Work. Like the other suspense authors in this list, get his book and settle in for a great story. Did I mention I like suspense series on TV?
    The next book I read and
    Other Titles not yet read.
    Now I have completed the 3 tasks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow oldscribe418 on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 627 hits
September 2014
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
The DayMaker

TR: Terry's Reflections

mandy wallace

write or die

Joan Raymond Writing

Helping writers. One line at a time.

Travel Lessons from A to Z

TR: Terry's Reflections

Jazzed About Stuff

A Writer's 21st Century Memoir.

derwerffblogg

TR: Terry's Reflections

Clarissa Kae

TR: Terry's Reflections

On The Ink

TR: Terry's Reflections

Bako Heat

Because Curmudgeons Play by Different Rules (MON-and-FRI)

